Article / Molly Reynolds

Government Reopened! Questions Follow

The Government Shutdown has reached a dramatic conclusion as Senate returns to their posts today just shy of the Default.

All these words I just typed make ZERO sense to me.  Not that I don’t think that the Senate should be gainfully employed.  But rather, because I’m not sure why the shutdown happened, whether it is the Senate or Congress returning to office (or both/neither) or what the heck a default is.  It’s not that I don’t read.  No! I looked at the news sites and I scanned the headlines: “Something Something Debt Ceiling Deal,” “Someone Congress Something Something Shutdown” & “Jhjskwudl Government Hjskks Tea Party.”  It’s all so confusing!

Here’s what I know for sure:

edoIt

Furthermore, I gleaned that maybe some of the furloughed workers are returning to their jobs?  I may be confusing one of those Here’s-What-We-Would-Like-To-Happen articles with a This-Is-What-Actually-Happened info pieces.  Regardless, there is just SO MUCH information out there I’d need another 24 hours in the day and a full-time job reading the news just to keep up!

tumblr_lokdgiA79w1qafrh6

All of this chaos in the government is happening in the midst of the release of Obamacare.  Nationwide health coverage is confusing because the plans have been introduced to the public but won’t be applicable till 2014 and a lot of Congresspeople are against it and want it overturned.  Wait… wha? I just don’t understand.

5SecondsApp (1)

So, there you have it!  All the national politics condensed into one informative article.  Well, at the very least I was able to impart you with all the knowledge I have about this mess. Which is… well, nothing.

 

Follow Molly on Twitter!  She at least understands how to type pointless 140-character blurbs about vapid, pointless musings.

One thought on “Government Reopened! Questions Follow

  1. It all boils down to a bunch of stale drama and a bucket full of hard feelings. I’ve had long-time friends come unhinged on me when I hold everyone in Congress partly responsible for this mess. Politicians have citizens that well trained these days. It’s almost like McCarthy-era behavior.

Use your words! Leave a comment!

