Article / Molly Reynolds / Uncategorized

The Croods – More Than a Movie

This weekend’s hot new movie is… wait for it – The Croods!!

That’s right.  Nicolas Cage hasn’t been in a ton of films lately, so its time he get involved with another project.  And what better opportunity than DreamWork’s animated thrill-romp than The Croods?  It is everything he’s looking for in a movie: something that makes you go “hm?”, prehistoric ladies and the chance to hide his balding hairline.

This movie has everything: action, adventure, philosophical debates, grunting and Emma Stone’s raspy voice.   Perhaps the most delightful character is young Guy, the adventurous and handsome love interest.  Voiced by Ryan Reynolds I got swept away in his VO.  It begs the question, when can I become Mrs. Molly Reynolds-Reynolds?

But for me, the real pleasure of the experience is the app.  I am clinically insane for the Croods game available for iOS and Android.  Seriously.  It has taken over my life.  I am able to relive the magic of the movie right on my iPhone device.  Constantly I am tending to my prehistoric creatures, making sure they are yielding enough resources and helping Ugga make soup.

 The app introduces wild beasts that are barely covered in the film: there is the berry eating Molar Bear, stone producing Bunny Beast and the advanced cutie CrocoPup.  While the focus of the game is to yield resources and increase output, I have positively fallen in love with the characters.  I would like to share with you some of the creature-based fan fiction haikus I have written inspired by The Croods’ app.

Alone in Wild trees
Bunny Beast captured by Grug
Forced to produce stones
Molar Bear, berries
Eaten with delightful joy
Poop out a carrot
Crocopup does growl
Alone in the night’s darkness
Nothing but bones left
Mother in Law, Gran
Creates a long to-do list
She’s a nag nag hag
Sharkodile eats bones
Neither water nor dirt tame
The wild beast’s hunger
Rovio Crood’s App
Taken over my desire
Work will not get done

One thought on “The Croods – More Than a Movie

Use your words! Leave a comment!

